Suriname, officially known as the Republic of Suriname is a country in northern South America. It is bordered by French Guiana to the east, Guyana to the west, Brazil to the south and the Atlantic Ocean to the north. Suriname was first colonized by the British, and captured by the Dutch in 1667, who governed it as Dutch Guiana until 1954. The country of Suriname achieved independence from the Kingdom of the Netherlands on 25 November 1975. Suriname, the Netherlands Antilles and the Netherlands itself have cooperated on a basis of equality since 1954.
At just under 165,000 km2 (64,000 sq mi), Suriname is the smallest sovereign state in South America. (French Guiana, while less extensive and populous, is an overseas department of France.) Suriname has a population of approximately 560,000, most of whom live on the country’s north coast, where the capital Paramaribo is located.

Contact Person(s):

Mrs. Alies van Sauers Muller

Head of Fruit Fly Programme

Ministry of Agriculture, Animal, Husbandry and Fisheries, Directorate Research

Carambola Fruit Fly Programme

Letitia Vriesdelaan 8

Paramaribo, Suriname

Tel: 597 425 632

Email:  or


Mr. Radendre Debie

Coordinator of Plant Quarantine and Quality Control Department

Ministry of Agriculture, Animal Husbandry and Fisheries

Letitia Vriesdelaan 8

Paramaribo, Suriname

Tel: 597 402 965 Fax: 597 403 165

Email:  or



Invasive Alien Species List:


Materials and Resources:


Work being done in Suriname: