Dominica, officially the Commonwealth of Dominica, is an island nation in the Lesser Antilles region of the Caribbean Sea, south-southeast of Guadeloupe and northwest of Martinique. Its size is 750 square kilometres (290 sq mi) and the highest point in the country is Morne Diablotins, which has an elevation of 1,447 metres (4,747 ft). The Commonwealth of Dominica had a population of 71,293 at the 2011 Census. The capital is Roseau. Dominica has been nicknamed the "Nature Isle of the Caribbean" for its unspoiled natural beauty. It is the youngest island in the Lesser Antilles, still being formed by geothermal-volcanic activity, as evidenced by the world's second-largest hot spring, Boiling Lake. The island features lush mountainous rainforests, home of many rare plant, animal, and bird species. There are xeric areas in some of the western coastal regions, but heavy rainfall can be expected inland.

Contact Person(s):

Mr. Ryan Anselm

Head of Plant Protection and

Quarantine Services

Ministry of Agriculture and Forestry, Plant Protection and Quarantine Services

Botanical Gardens, Roseau, Commonwealth of Dominica

Tel: 767 266 3803 /3820 / 3812   Cell: 767 616 0975   Fax: 767 448 8632


Email: or


Invasive Alien Species List:

Invasive Alien Species List for Dominica: Dominica IAS List (XLS)

Materials and Resources:


Work being done in Dominica:

Dominica IAS List

Click to view Dominica’s Invasive Alien Species list: Dominica IAS List (XLS)

Read more