Cayman Islands


The Cayman Islands is a British Overseas Territory located in the western Caribbean Sea. The territory comprises the three islands of Grand Cayman, Cayman Brac, and Little Cayman, located south of Cuba and northwest of Jamaica. The Cayman Islands are considered to be part of the geographic Western Caribbean Zone as well as the Greater Antilles. The territory is a major world offshore financial centre.The Cayman Islands were first logged as sighted by Christopher Columbus on 10 May 1503 during his fourth and final voyage to the New World. He named the islands Las Tortugas after the large number of sea turtles observed there. The first recorded English visitor to the islands was Sir Francis Drake in 1586. He subsequently named the islands “Cayman” after caiman, a Neo-Taino word for “alligator”.

Contact Person(s):

Mr. Brian Crichlow

Assistant Director of Agriculture

Cayman Island Department of Agriculture

181 Lottery Road, Lower Valley, PO Box 459

Grand Cayman KY1 – 1106

Cayman Islands

Tel: 345 947 3090   Fax: 345 947 6501



Invasive Alien Species List:


Materials and Resources:


Work being done in Cayman Islands: