Antigua and Barbuda

antigua-flagAntigua and Barbuda is a twin-island nation lying between the Caribbean Sea and the Atlantic Ocean. It consists of two major inhabited islands, Antigua and Barbuda, and a number of smaller islands (including Great Bird, Green, Guinea, Long, Maiden and York Islands and further south, the island of Redonda). The permanent population number approximately 81,800 (at the 2011 Census) and the capital and largest port and city is St. John’s, on Antigua.   Separated by a few nautical miles, Antigua and Barbuda are in the middle of the Leeward Islands, part of the Lesser Antilles, roughly at 17 degrees north of the Equator. The country is nicknamed “Land of 365 Beaches” due to the many beaches surrounding the islands. Its governance, language, and culture have all been strongly influenced by the British Empire, of which the country was formerly a part.



Contact Person:

Ms. Kishma Primus Plant

Protection Unit Ministry of Agriculture, Lands Housing and the Environment

Queen Elizabeth Highway, St John\’s, Antigua

Tel: 268 562 1923 Fax: 268 562 1923




Invasive Alien Species List:


Materials and Resources:


Work being done in Antigua and Barbuda: